1901 Troy Common Council

The following article appeared in the November 7, 2000 Troy Record "Turn of the Century" feature and was submitted by Pam Trudeau.

Wednesday, November 7 1900. With most of the dust settled after yesterday's voting, some questions remain undecided. One question that will linger for some months ahead is the matter of who exactly will control Troy's Common Council.

IN TROY, Republicans will have a narrow majority in the Common Council thanks to a strong GOP turnout in the new wards created by the annexation of Lansingburgh. In effect, however, the council will be divided into at least three factions: straight Republicans who follow former Governor Frank S. Black; straight Democrats loyal to former U. S. Senator Edward Murphy, jr.; and a coalition of dissident Republicans and Progressive Democrats led by Mayor Daniel E. Conway.

The 1901 Common Council consists of cafe owner William Closson (R-at large); Troy Gas Company executive John F. Cahill (D-1W); George H. Atkins (R-2W); postal telegraph manager Marshall L. Barnes (R-3W); merchant carpenter George Spence, jr. (R-4W); salesman David L. Beattie (R-5W); meterman Patrick E. Purcell (D-6W); stove merchant Frank E. O'Brien (D-7W); road builder William E. Burke (D-8W); brewer Joseph F. Hogan (D-9W); Matthias A. Larkin (D-10W); saloon keeper John J. Casey (D-11W); meterman Dennis M. Tracey (D-12W); building mover William J. Breckenridge (R-13W); grocer George W. Fradenburgh (R-14W); piano mover Levi H. Gray (R-15W); paint dealer Charles H. Dauchy (R-16W); and printer George E. McMurry (R-17W).

Send comments or suggestions to:
Debby Masterson
Go Back to Rensselaer Co. Potpourri
Go Back to Home Page